The Northern and Yorke region extends for 38,500 square kilometres. It is a varied and productive portion of South Australia and includes 1,300km of coastline and adjacent marine areas.

The region encompasses:

  • the Yorke Peninsula
  • significant areas of Spencer Gulf and Gulf St Vincent
  • the southern Flinders Ranges
  • parts of the Rangelands
  • the Mid North
  • the northern Mount Lofty Ranges
  • the Barossa
  • northern Adelaide Plains.

The region supports a population of approximately 150,000 people who reside in agricultural, coastal and urban communities.

It welcomes a large number of visitors each year to destinations that include:

  • Dhilba Guuranda-Innes National Park
  • Barossa Valley
  • Clare Valley
  • Southern Flinders Ranges

The region includes traditional Aboriginal lands of the Narungga, Nukunu, Ngadjuri, Kaurna and Peramangk people.

The major urban centres are:

  • Port Pirie
  • Gawler
  • Nuriootpa
  • Clare
  • Burra
  • Peterborough
  • Kadina
  • Moonta
  • Wallaroo.

Natural resources underpin a range of industries. Approximately 80% of the region is under agricultural cropping and grazing production contributing a quarter of South Australia's agricultural earnings.

The region embraces the major Barossa Valley and Clare Valley wine growing regions, and supports:

  • significant mining and mineral processing activities
  • fishing
  • aquaculture
  • forestry
  • horticulture
  • tourism.

In July 2020, a new way of managing South Australian landscapes was welcomed with the Landscape South Australia Act 2019 replacing the former Natural Resources Management Act 2004.

Given this change, and the appointment of the new Northern and Yorke Landscape Board, we updated our previous plan to a new Regional Landscape Plan.

We built on extensive previous community engagement that had been undertaken, and re-mapped all of the original priorities identified by our community to align with the new legislation.

Our previous planning approach started with us developing an understanding of what the community valued across the region, and identifying opportunities to protect and enhance those valued features.

To focus on the different subtleties across the region’s landscapes, the region is divided into 4 management districts:

  • Southern Flinders Ranges
  • Mid North
  • Valleys and Plains
  • Yorke Peninsula

In our engagement with community we have identified the systems within the districts and their challenges, and captured opportunities to address these challenges. The work that we do is driven by what the district community have indicated as most valued from a landscape, livelihood and lifestyle perspective.

You can access further detail about this engagement in the Community Action Plans on the Supporting documents page. We used the outcome of this earlier consultation to inform the new plan, with extreme care taken to retain the essence of what our community values most.

Read the draft Northern and Yorke Regional Landscape Plan including the Supporting documents and then get involved.