What will be the impact if school buses stop at non-government schools?

Hello and welcome to the discussion forum on the review of school bus services in regional SA.

Currently school buses only stop at non-government schools if the school is on their existing route.

What are the implications if existing government school buses start making stops at non-government schools on their current route and outside of their route?

Read the Review of School Bus Services Terms of Reference(Opens in a new window) and the SA School Transport Policy(Opens in a new window) and provide your feedback in the discussion below.

Comments closed

Kasey Cunneen

15 Feb 2019

Possible challenges with this proposal are:
- Increased cost & complexity for the Government to continue to provide a safe and effective service.
- Greater risk for bus drivers due to increased distractions & higher level of duty of care for more children.
- Extra supervision may be required on bus runs. More children, many from different schools often means more complex issues such as bullying could arise.
- To outweigh the added costs the government could possibly begin charging a fee for this service which is not a viable option for a lot of non-government families who are already doing it tough (farming families) and low socioeconomic households. School is compulsory and many students need a reliable way to get to and from.
- Extra travel times for some children who are already traveling long distances due to living on rural properties. Meaning less home time which we know every child requires.
- Reduce in public school enrollments.

Leah Breen

15 Feb 2019

Very little I impact on the Public Schools and a huge benefit to the Private School goers who currently have no bus service (acknowledging that some do have a bus service). THere may be some Public School families switch to Private Schools however I suspect this will be minimal and, in any case, the benefit of supporting freedom of in education outweigh any minor lowering of Public School attendendees.

Mike S

15 Feb 2019

I understand many people think this will be an improvement however I disagree. Where we are the private school up the road (115km) puts on a school bus for our area. If there is a need private schools are well equipped (& funded) to such a service. In the city it is a non issue but they run school buses and public buses. If you want to go this way put on some public bus routes out here!
Such a proposal may decrease public school enrollments - again if you are keen on a private school you may not care however these schools need to maintain viable enrollments. Recently we have seen multiple preschools in our are close - due to low numbers; once these are gone there is little chance of getting them back. Schools like Coonalpyn, Geranium and Palmer (among others) could all end up closing. This may be cheaper for the government but what about the parents happy with those schools who don't want their kids on a bus each way for an hour or more?
We had a family move out down the road and were able to request the bus route be changed to a better location, a shift like this will reduce flexibility for current clients.
Our preschool lets kids on the bus but I was told if the bus if full of school kids then I miss out. Putting more kids on the bus (to capacity) will mean preschool kids miss out. Will you then guarantee them a place on the bus?
It's a great idea if you don't want to support your local school (or don't trust them to educate your kid) but you might as well make them public bus routes.

Leanne Lang

15 Feb 2019

I can only see the positive impacts of school buses stopping at non-government schools. Firstly it will ease the financial, social and emotional strain on families who are currently having to travel in excess of 150km per day to take their children to a non-government school. The safety of students arriving/departing school would be improved as they would be dropped off/picked up directly at the school gates. It also supports freedom of choice for parents to select a Catholic education for their children and a school that fits their family best.

Martin Hayes

14 Feb 2019

The impact of school buses stopping at non-government schools will be:

-Non-government schoolchildren will be safer

-Non-government schools and possibly families will be financially better off as a result of not having to pay for/organise additional transport from the local Government school site (bus drop off) to their school

-Give parents more freedom of choice when it comes to which school they would like to send their child/ren to.

Michelle Warburton

14 Feb 2019

This will affect us enormously as we live 50km away and i would not be able to do the school drop off and pick ups as i am a carer for my mum

Government Agency

School Bus Review team

14 Feb 2019

Thankyou for participating in the online discussion in response to the school bus review currently being conducted for school buses in regional South Australia. All responses will be considered and collated at the end of the consultation, which will assist in forming the report to Government.

Julian Rebellato

13 Feb 2019

All families and students will have equal opportunities to select the best school for their needs. By opening services to all South Australian school students it allows for a greater distribution of student access, better use of resources, both infrastructure and environmental as well as increased productivity where time for parents and carers is not spent in the car.
Should bus services be limited to just Department schools it can have a negative impact on non-government school enrolments which can offer differentiated and specialist services, thus resources are not as pressured.

Brooke Dempsey

13 Feb 2019

Every South Australian child should be entitled to attend the school their family has chosen for them, if this means catching a bus to school all children and families and entitled to an equal opportunity. As families are all part of paying taxes and school fees they should be entitled to the same privileges of confidently catching a bus to school.

Jane Adams

13 Feb 2019

Its in everyone’s best interest for children to access their school of choice, be it government or non government. Stopping at non-government schools is not an issue. It ensures children’s safety as they arrive at school in a monitored environment. We also know there are various reasons why families choose different schools and it seems inequitable for buses to not stop at certain schools.

Rob Francis

13 Feb 2019

I think it would have a large impact at the school that I teach. These days often both parents work, so many students come to schools on bus. If those buses didn't stop at the non-government schools, it may force some families to change school. If this happened it would result in less students at my school and will impact on class sizes and staffing. I think buses should continue to run as they are, as it gives parents the ability to choose the school that is the best fit for their child/children.

David Green

13 Feb 2019

This will benefit those students attending non-government schools, relieve pressure on families and allow all students the right to access a transport system funded by taxpayers. Why should it be exclusive to DECD school students? People incorrectly assume that if a child attends a non-government school then they are financially well off, which is a fallacy. Yes, some may be. A lot of others aren't and access to the buses should be open to all. Whilst bus travel may take a little longer due to a few more stops, the overall impact appears minimal. If the extra students means buses become filled quicker, then the Department of Education or as one would expect to cover it, the Department of Transport need to allocate funds to ensure bus capacities are sufficient to meet the people of the area. Regional towns provide so much for our state yet so often, those south of the Toll Gate are neglected. Big decisions seem to made to advance and improve metropolitan Adelaide. The regions are suffering, and this is just one of the many issues being neglected.

Sophie Millington

13 Feb 2019

The main concern is not the fact that the bus will stop at non-government schools, as this will barely change the route, it is the size of the bus used on the route that is the issue. By stopping at non-government schools this will allow for freedom of choice for parents to select a school that best fits their family and childrens needs. It will reduce the amount of transportation parents are required to take, allowing them to engage in full-time work, which provides a positive impact on the local economy. Dropping the children at the school gate will also provide parents peace of mind that there child has made it to school.

George Millington

13 Feb 2019

All children have a right to catch a school bus and excluding some is unfair. Living in a rural community with vast distances means a school bus for all is essential. Not stopping it at non government schools will further harm already under serviced regional communities.

Vicki H

12 Feb 2019

School buses should be stopping at all schools, whether they are government or independent. Positive impacts include:
- freedom of choice to select the school that best suits the schools and children, rather than being biased by access to school buses
- reducing the financial impact on regional families, who previously had increased costs associated with transportation to/from school over longer distances and limited work opportunities due to shortened hours around school pickup/drop off
- opportunity for more interactions between children of all schools/backgrounds/beliefs, improving social fabric within regional communities (rather than "them" and "us" feelings, resentment or competition)
- improved safety, with families being able to access school buses. particularly where distances are greater and in areas where there are no/few walking paths or bike tracks

I can not see any significant negative impacts in our region as the length of the bus routes are unlikely to change by stopping at non-government schools and while bigger buses may be needed to accommodate all children, this is more than offset by the positive impacts outlined above.

Laura Waldhuter

12 Feb 2019

I believe that the impact in our regional area would only be positive. Yes, larger buses would be required, however parents would have peace of mind, knowing that their children have been delivered directly to school. In our area, all of the schools are in close proximity, so travel time is not of concern. There would also be the benefits of reduced traffic congestion at school drop off and pickup times and the reduced emissions that come from less travel by families.

Matt Schultz

12 Feb 2019

The term implication infers a negative outcome, however the implication or rephrase "positive outcome" is that children will have a regular safe journey to school, many children play sport together at club level regardless of the school they go to, hence they get a wider interaction on a daily basis encouraging a greater sense of community.

Karly Proctor

12 Feb 2019

I don't feel there would be an impact, except maybe extra time spent on the bus.

Anna McVann Hawker

11 Feb 2019

The main issue is not the fact that buses are stopping at non-government schools in our region as most buses bypass all the schools on the way to their destination. The issue is the size of the bus and the bus not being able to fit all students from all schools. It is evident that there are not enough seats to transport regional kids to school, regardless of their choice of educational facility.

Supports freedom of choice for parents to select a Catholic education for their child/children and a school that best fits their family and their children's needs.

I see the impact as only positive, reducing the financial burden of transport, safety and the environment for regional families. Access to bus travel for all children encourages social interaction amongst all children from all schools which is a positive for the community and especially the youth of today who spend so much time "chatting" on technology. It also ensures children are arriving at school on time and sets them up well for the day

Christine Kemp

11 Feb 2019

Most schools have a bus zone that allows for the safe drop off and pick up of students irrespective of the bus. The only difference may be a few additional minutes travel time which is neither here nor there when you weigh up the convenience to families, the safety, the financial, and the wonderful opportunities for socialising with students from various religious and social backgrounds. Our students and their families will be the big winners and isn't that what government services should be seeking to achieve.

Ann Hoskings

11 Feb 2019

Extra traffic around schools if all buses service all schools. Feeder buses can operate from one appropriate school to other schools .... government or non-government.

Jason Gilles

11 Feb 2019

The impact?

It would be a positive for rural communities and those hard working families that are the fabric of those communities.

The focus should be on providing equality of services to all within rural communities.

Paula Perkins

11 Feb 2019

If the Regional school buses are removed or reduced my children will not be able to attend school. I leave home at 6.20am for work. I have no other way to get my children to school, which is 17 ks away.
If there is no bus, I will have to quit work, then we will be a burden to everyone who pays Tax as the only option is Centerlink.
Living in rural areas we are limited to employment options.

Kirsty Tilley

10 Feb 2019

It will give us security. It will ensure our children can safely travel to school. It will enable me to work in the community and my husband to have more time to work our family farm.

mango Parker

10 Feb 2019

As many people as possible should be able to use public transport. It makes so much sense for the environment. It's good for children to learn to use public transport, so that they will be able and confident to use public transport for the rest of their lives. A small detour for a bus could make a difference to a lot of people.