Multicultural Legislative Review 2019

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

Consultation Process

Now Closed

This online engagement was hosted on YourSAy from 15 April 2019 to 3 June 2019. Below is a record of this engagement.


How can we modernise our state’s multicultural legislation to reflect the changing needs and aspirations of our growing multicultural community?

What is being decided?

We are reviewing the South Australian Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs Commission Act 1980 to ensure it reflects the changing needs of our multicultural community.

Legislative reform will set a firm foundation for the development of new multicultural policy, which will reflect the state’s cultural, linguistic and religious diversity.

We want

Consultation Process

Now Closed

This online engagement was hosted on YourSAy from 15 April 2019 to 3 June 2019. Below is a record of this engagement.


How can we modernise our state’s multicultural legislation to reflect the changing needs and aspirations of our growing multicultural community?

What is being decided?

We are reviewing the South Australian Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs Commission Act 1980 to ensure it reflects the changing needs of our multicultural community.

Legislative reform will set a firm foundation for the development of new multicultural policy, which will reflect the state’s cultural, linguistic and religious diversity.

We want the legislation to recognise the valuable contribution of our multicultural community, and further support the development of culturally responsive government services.

The review and consultation will focus on the following Terms of Reference:

1. Explore options for expanding the scope and purpose of the legislation to enshrine multicultural policy directions
2. Review the functions and powers of the Commission and ensure its title reflects this
3. Review the appointment process of Commission members
4. Contemporise the language used in the Act

The Multicultural Legislative Review 2019 Discussion Paper has been prepared to inform and guide the engagement process. The paper includes discussion of the Terms of Reference, current practices under existing legislation, a summary of legislative and policy approaches in other Australian jurisdictions, a set of suggested multicultural principles, proposed approaches and questions for consideration and feedback.

A Multicultural Legislative Review 2019 Research Paper has also been developed to accompany the discussion paper. The research paper provides a description of current multicultural legislation, advisory mechanisms and multicultural policies in other jurisdictions.

The discussion paper should be read in conjunction with the research paper and the Act.

We are strongly commited to supporting our diverse and vibrant multicultural community.

Get involved

Help us shape the new multicultural legislation:

How can your input influence the decision?

Community input is critical to ensuring that the new legislation reflects community views and changing needs. Your feedback will help us understand what changes to legislation should be made or considered.

What are the next steps?

A consultation summary will be published in June 2019. The report detailing what we heard from the community and stakeholders, will be available later in the year.

Contact

For further information:

Read: Frequently Ask Questions
Email: multiculturalreview@sa.gov.au
Phone: 8429 5951

Closing date: 5pm Monday 3 June 2019




Background

Now Closed

This online engagement was hosted on YourSAy from 15 April 2019 to 3 June 2019. Find out more about the consultation process. Below is a record of this engagement.


The South Australian Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs Commission Act 1980 is the only piece of legislation specific to multicultural affairs.

It was enacted 39 years ago and has not undergone major review in 30 years. A review of the Act provides the opportunity to develop fresh legislation that affirms the government’s commitment to multiculturalism and its importance to South Australia.

We need legislation that sets a foundation for the development of new multicultural policy that reflects the state’s cultural, linguistic and religious diversity, recognises the valuable contribution of our diverse communities and supports the development of culturally responsive government services.

For more information read our FAQs.

Help us shape the new legistaion and get involved.

Consultation has concluded
  • What you said

    Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link
    by BTT_Migration_Team,

    Now Closed

    This online engagement was hosted on YourSAy from 15 April 2019 to 3 June 2019. Find out more about the consultation process Below is a record of this engagement.


    Help us shape the new multicultural legislation - read the discussion paper and the Multicultural Legislative Review 2019 Research Paper View the current South Australian Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs Commission Act 1980.

    Port Pirie Community Forum
    When: 6:30pm-8:30pm, Tuesday 30 April 2019
    Where: Port Pirie Sporting Precinct, Mary Elie Street, Port Pirie
    Book now

    Adelaide Community Forum
    When: 6:30pm-8:30pm, Thursday 2 May 2019
    Where: Thebarton Community Centre, South Road and Ashwin Parade, Torrensville
    Book now

    Berri Community Forum
    When: 6:30pm-8:30pm, Tuesday 7 May 2019
    Where: Berri Resort Hotel, Riverview Drive, Berri
    Book now

    Mount Gambier Community Forum
    When: 6:30pm-8:30pm, Monday 20 May 2019
    Where: Main Corner Complex, 1 Bay Road, Mount Gambier
    Book now

    Adelaide Community Forum
    When: 9:30am – 11:30am, Thursday 23 May 2019
    Where: Nexus, Lion Arts Centre, Morphett Street, Adelaide
    Book now

    Murray Bridge Community Forum
    When: 6:30pm-8:30pm, Thursday 30 May 2019
    Where: Murray Bridge Town Hall, 13-17 Bridge Street, Murray Bridge
    Book now

  • Updates

    Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link
    by BTT_Migration_Team,

    Legislation introduced

    The South Australian Multicultural Bill 2020 was introduced to Parliament on 14 October 2020.

  • Updates

    Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link
    by BTT_Migration_Team,

    Consultation Report released

    The Multicultural Legislative Review 2019 Consultation Report is now available.

  • Updates

    Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link
    by BTT_Migration_Team,

    Multicultural Legislative Review temporarily on hold

    The Multicultural Legislative Review has been temporarily put on hold

  • Updates

    Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link
    by BTT_Migration_Team,

    Multicultural Legislative Review - Update

    An update on the Multicultural Legislative Review 2019.

  • Updates

    Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link
    by BTT_Migration_Team,

    Written submissions - now available

    A record of the written submissions received as part of the Multicultural Legislative Review is now available.