Where across the state would the new default speed limit apply?

    Any new default beach speed limit will apply to all beaches accessible by vehicles across South Australia, unless otherwise signposted. For example, the speed limit of 10 km/h for Moana, Aldinga and Sellick’s Beaches will continue to apply.

    Can local authorities request an alternative beach speed limit, that varies from the default beach speed limit?

    Yes, local authorities will need to apply to the Department for Infrastructure and Transport to change the default speed limit. The Department is responsible for the management of speed limits across the state, as detailed in the Speed Limit Guideline for South Australia.

    Is this project looking at the environmental impact of vehicles on our beaches?

    No, The Department for Environment and Water (DEW) is progressing work on the broader issue of managing vehicles on South Australian beaches.

    What legislation or regulations will need to be changed if a new speed limit on South Australian beaches is introduced?

    Any change to the default speed limit on beaches would require a variation to the existing Road Traffic (Road Rules – Ancillary and Miscellaneous Provisions) Regulations 2014.